top of page


The Association for the Study of the Cuban Economy (ASCE) is a non-profit, non-political organization incorporated in the state of Maryland in 1990.

Our mission is to promote research, publications, and scholarly discussion on the Cuban economy in its broadest sense, including on the social, economic, legal, and environmental aspects of a transition to a free market economy and a democratic society in Cuba.  ASCE is committed to a civil discussion of all points of view.

Affiliated with the American Economic Association and the Allied Social Sciences Association of the United States, ASCE maintains professional contacts with economists inside Cuba —whether independent or associated with the Cuban government— who are interested in engaging in scholarly discussion and research.


Our Team

The Board of Directors, elected by the membership for a two-year period, meets monthly. Its officers, who reside in different cities of the United States, Latin America, and Europe, serve in a pro-bono, voluntary capacity. Since ASCE’s inception, Board positions have been occupied by professors, engineers, lawyers, individuals in government service and multilateral organizations, and in business enterprises.

Period: 2022-2023

ASCE Board of Directors is elected by its members for a two-year period. Board members, who reside in different U.S. cities, serve pro-bono.

  • Luis Locay, ASCE President and Associate Professor of Economics at the University of Miami

  • Gary Maybarduk, previous ASCE President and United States Foreign Service, retired

  • Lorenzo L. Perez, ASCE Secretary, and retired economist

  • Sergio Diaz-Briquets, Demographer and Private Consultant

  • Rogelio Luis de la Torre, Political Scientist, retired

  • Natalia Delgado, Attorney, Director of the Cuban Capacity Building Project at Columbia Law School

  • Larry Cata Backer, Professor of Law and International Affairs at Pennsylvania State University

  • Jorge Esquirol, Law Professor at Florida International University Law School

  • Ricardo Torres Perez, Economist, Research and Faculty Fellow at American University of Washington, DC

  • Pavel Vidal, Economics Professor at the Universidad Javeriana de Cali, Colombia

  • Mauricio de Miranda Parrondo, Economics Professor at the Universidad Javeriana de Cali, Colombia

  • Juan Tomas Sanchez, non-voting ASCE Board member, a retired engineer

Juan T Sánchez is Treasurer (since 01/01/2022)

ASCE may be reached via e-mail at:


Standing Committees and Their Membership

  • Conference Program: Jorge Pérez-López, Joaquin Pujol, Silvia Pedraza 

  • Student Prize: Mario González-Corzo, Carmelo Mesa-Lago, Michael Strauss and Enrique Pumar

  • Proceedings Committee: Jorge Pérez-López, Ricardo Torres Perez, Victoria Locay

  • American Economic Association (AEA) Session Coordinator: John Devereux

  • Latin American Studies Association (LASA) Session Coordinator: Silvia Pedraza

  • Cuban Research Institute (CRI), FIU  Coordinator:  Luis Locay

  • Carlos Díaz-Alejandro Lecture: Luis Locay

  • Blog ( Luis R. Luis


ASCE Past Presidents

Two-year terms:

  • Felipe Pazos, Banco Nacional de Cuba, Former President (ex-officio)

  • Roger Betancourt, University of Maryland

  • Jorge F. Pérez-López, U. S. Department of Labor

  • Armando M. Lago, Ecosometrics, Inc.

  • Antonio Gayoso, Agency for International Development

  • Lorenzo Pérez, International Monetary Fund (one year term)

  • Sergio Díaz-Briquets, Casals and Associates (one year term)

  • Carlos N. Quijano, The World Bank

  • Beatriz C. Casals, Casals and Associates

  • Ernesto Hernández-Catá, International Monetary Fund

  • Armando S. Linde, International Monetary Fund

  • Jorge A. Sanguinetty, DevTech, Inc.

  • Rafael Romeu, International Monetary Fund

  • Ted Henken, Baruch College

  • Carlos Seiglie, Rutgers University

  • Helena Solo-Gabriele, University of Miami

  • Silvia Pedraza, University of Michigan


Comité Ejecutivo

El Comité Ejecutivo de ASCE, elegido por un período de dos años, se reúne mensualmente. Sus miembros, que residen en diferentes ciudades de Estados Unidos, Latinoamérica, y Europa, sirven pro-bono, como voluntarios, en sus cargos. Desde su incepción han servido en el Comité Ejecutivo de ASCE profesores, ingenieros, abogados, funcionarios públicos y de organismos internacionales, y negociantes.


Las comunicaciones a miembros del Comité Ejecutivo pueden dirigirse a:


bottom of page